Celebrating 15 Years of Being Online

http image

15 years ago today I went online for the first time, thanks to the Webtv unit that my mother gave me for Christmas….by the time I got it hooked up and then signed up for the service, it was the wee hours of December 26th, 1999.

webtv logo

 

webtv plus unit

Webtv was a service from Microsoft that allowed you to use your tv set to connect to the internet using dial-up “technology”. Rather than try to explain how it worked, watch this video instead.

Yeah, it was primitive but it was a way to learn about using the internet before I eventually graduated to a laptop in October 2001. By that point Microsoft was allowing Webtv (which was rebranded MSNTV) users to access their MSN and/or Hotmail accounts on both their Webtv units and their computers at no extra cost. I did this until a little more than 5 years in December 2006, when we subscribed to Time-Warner’s high speed internet service, which I continue to use to this day. MSNTV, by the way, was discontinued on September 30th, 2013.

I have enjoyed being on the internet during these past 15 years….I’ve met all sorts of people online and used so many different services from banking to shopping to YouTube, MySpace (remember them?), Facebook and Twitter. Oh yeah….I also went from blogging on TypePad to WordPress….a definite improvement!

Anyway, I just wanted to observe the anniversary of the beginning of my access to the internet. The technology has expanded at such a breakneck speed since then and some day I’ll catch up with it all. Until then, whenever I become frustrated with my 8 1/2 year old laptop, I’ll stop and remember what things were like in the dark ages when dial-up and Webtv were state of the art technology.

Scary, ain’t it?

 

Leave a Reply

Ester Goldberg

International Glamour Puss of all Media

By Ken Levine

Thoughts about this and that....and sometines that and this

nicksantamaria

Rinickulous!

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Chrisbearde's Weblog

A Liberal Portion

bhardwazbhardwaz

Knowledge and Happiness(K&H) multiples by dividing it. More you share, higher and bigger they grow.

O·PIN·ION·AT·ED MIS·CEL·LA·NY

[uh-pin'-yuhn-ay-tid] [mis-sel'-uh-nee] - DOGMATIC OBSERVATIONS REGARDING UNRELATED AND RANDOM TOPICS

News From ME

Thoughts about this and that....and sometines that and this

